Testimonials – What Our Clients are Saying


Testimonials

Here are some of the trip reviews we have collected and what our clients are saying about Delectable Destinations customized travel services…

“Wow what a trip! A friend and I went on the Delectable Destinations trip to Andalucia, Spain Fall 2016……and it was an amazing adventure of food, wine, culture, history and stunning scenery. And as promised, the villa estate where we stayed was spectacular. Carol and her team were the best! Their planning made every day varied, fun, interesting, informative, and perfectly paced. Clearly she loves what she does – and I loved being a part of it.”

Diane B. Greenwich, CT

 

“Mere English words cannot describe the Amalfi Coast experience I had with you and Delectable Destinations! I wish I had command of the expressive and dramatic Italian language to say how I felt about that week in Ravello. Bellissimo! The villa we stayed in was elegant, beautiful, and pristine. The staff was amazing and I felt like they treated us like family from day one. The breakfast spread was a feast in itself with fresh local fruit, salumi, cheeses, yogurt, breads and eggs to order if we wanted! Every vantage point from the villa was breathtaking from the first night with the full moon glistening over the sea, to the early morning sunrises and the late afternoon view from the hot tub! Each day you brought us on a new adventure that was personal, local, off-the-beaten-path, and delicious! The most common thing I heard from my fellow travelers was “this just keeps getting better and better!” and I agree. Each experience was a gem in and of itself…the vineyard visit and private dinner cooked by the owner; the lunch at the restaurant with the spectacular view on the way back from Positano; our private lemoncello lesson with the chef; the private dinner in the home of an award winning chef to name a few, are all now memories of a lifetime for me. It’s clear you have forged amazing relationships with many people in Italy…even the drivers we had were so wonderful and added rich local color to the journey…all in the comfort of those gorgeous Mercedes vans! The two guides we had…for Ravello and for Vietri… were so personable and authentic and knowledgeable. Thank you for arranging this “beyond my every expectations” trip. It was indeed a trip of a lifetime and I look forward to exploring another area with you soon. I already know it’s going to be amazing.”

Chef Rachel Reuben, Stir Things Up!

 

“The “Recipe for Reinvention” aspect of our trip did more for me in one week than months of therapy could have ever accomplished. Imagine sitting under a beautiful full moon on the edge of the Mediterranean Sea looking inward and not being afraid to vocalize what you want in life and what you need to overcome in order to get it. Being in one of the most beautiful places in the world creates a safe place where friendships occur instantly and fosters a sense of security that allows you to bear your soul with no reservations. Be prepared to learn things about yourself you either didn’t know or forgot you had within you. This was an experience that I will never forget and will hold dear to my heart forever.”

Elisa B., New York, NY

 

“Carol, my expectations for this trip ran high as you know I was celebrating my 50th with family and I just want to send a quick note to say thank you for exceeding them! I have been asked over and over again, “how was Italy” and of all the wonderful things I could have chosen to say about Amalfi and our vacation I found myself saying “DELICIOUS” most often. Being a foodie, I was thinking of all the special and thoughtful, delectable, decadent and mouthwatering lunches and dinners you organized to make the week so memorable for us! I loved meeting all the locals you have come to know and trust over the years – standouts were Roberta at Villa San Cosma for making us feel like we were home, Roberto our wonderful driver who was so knowledgeable and entertaining (thinking of all those songs we sang on the way back from festivities), and so many notable experiences – the lemon tour, lunch at the vineyard, dinner at Chef Vito’s when he made homemade pasta on that crazy machine (just because I asked about it) and not to be outdone, our cooking day at Mamma Agata’s. Lastly, set to a stunning Amalfi Coast backdrop, meals too numerous to list where we were treated like royalty and fed like them too. Thank you again for making our trip so easy, delicious and memorable!! Our paths will cross again! And of course, I must end on BON GIORNO !!!!!!!”

Sue H., Wilton, CT

 

“Delectable Destinations has found another gem of a cultural and culinary experience in Andalusia Spain. This being my second trip with Carol (last year, Amalfi Coast) I knew it would be wonderful, but Andalusia Spain exceeded all of my expectations. Villa Cortijo El Carligto-Private Andalucian Hideaway’s location is breathtaking and authentic Spanish! Daily panoramic excursions to nearby towns and vineyards highlighted the seacoast and beautiful vistas. But the food, oh my, the food was the star of the week! Our private chef for the week prepared the freshest most delicious food I’ve ever tasted AND Carol captured the beauty of it with her exceptional photography skills. Once again, Carol has partnered with the most talented, friendly and caring people who love to share their part of the world with their guests. Thank you Carol, David, Rosa, Alan and Mark. An experience I will never forget!

Beth F., Spring Grove, PA

 

“Delectable Destinations took me on another amazing travel experience to Andalucia, Spain! After going last Spring to Amalfi Coast with Carol, I had to go on another culinary and cultural tour with her. The magnificent villa, delectable Spanish cuisine, friendly people and beautiful scenery were all spectacular! Carol finds the “gems” of the region. What a way to travel with personal attention given to every detail of the trip so I could relax and enjoy every moment. I truly felt I had the best “taste” of the region and left with wonderful memories. Thank you Carol!”

Bev G., Spring Grove, PA

 

“Where do I begin? All it took was one conversation with Carol to know without a doubt that I was about to embark on something special.  From the moment I saw our driver (Roberto, a dear friend of Carol’s and now mine too!) holding my name up on a sign at Naples airport, everything – I mean EVERYTHING was taken care of.  I went on a unique trip that was designed just for women, and it was the perfect way to travel by myself to Europe for the first time. We all connected immediately with our own stories to tell, and we all walked away from the experience with new friendships and self-discoveries that will have changed us for the better. The beauty of Ravello (where we stayed in a beautiful villa on the Amalfi Coast) cannot be summed up in a few sentences. The experiences Carol carefully and seamlessly plans cannot be summed up in a few sentences either.  All I can tell you is that if you want a first class experience in one of the most beautiful places on earth, Delectable Destinations is the way to go. You will be in the hands of an amazing individual whose passion in life is to share her favorite places in the world with you, who knows the in’s and outs of each destination she organizes to offer you unique experiences you could never possibly put together on your own. If you truly want to experience the culture and beauty of one of Carol’s destinations, to be constantly wowed and pinching yourself to check if you’re dreaming….give her a call.  You will not be disappointed.”

Elisa B., New York, NY

 

“We so enjoyed our 2 weeks in Tuscany and the Amalfi Coast with you and your groups. It was certainly a holiday we will remember with fondness for a long time to come. The highlights are too numerous to count, but perhaps what we enjoyed most was meeting the passionate, dedicated, hard-working people that you work with in Italy. We was so impressed by what they do and the pride they take in their endeavours. That was truly humbling and most impressive. We all agree, we could end up writing an epistle when it comes to giving you the highlights of our experiences. Seeing and being in the magnificent Italy landscape and inhaling the air, the way of life, culture, tasting the food and wine was pretty special. The trip was informative and has no doubt created long-lasting fond memories. Is there anyone who lives there that doesn’t grow their own vegetables, make their own wine and olive oil?! We are truly grateful to have gone to Italy and to have done so in the intimate company of six people, yourself and our wonderful and knowledgeable drivers. Keep doing what your doing Carol. Grazie”!

Toni, Paul & Edie, Montreal, Canada

 

“Thank you Carol for putting together such a fabulous itinerary of Tuscany and the Chianti Classico Region. There were many extraordinary moments of the trip but my two favourite experiences would have to be our truffle hunt with Cioco the dog in the beautiful Tuscan woods and our visit to the Chianti Cashmere Goat Farm.The truffle hunt was unique and a once in a lifetime experience while the Cashmere farm was educational and informative. Nora, the owner of the farm was truly inspirational in her love and devotion to her animals and her land. During the course of our stay in the Tuscany region, we sampled delicious local and regional foods and tasted many fine wines.We went on a four hour walking tour with Martina who gave us a taste of the various culinary delights of the region. Our visits to the Chianti Classico vineyards were both stunning and a true learning experience. In Florence, we visited beautiful markets and shops. Cooking with Veronica on our final day of the trip was a true delight and let us not forget our outstanding lunch at the renowned Michelin Star restaurant Osteria di Passignano. As an art lover, I truly enjoyed seeing and learning about the history of Michelangelo’s “David.” The Tuscany region of Italy is visually stunning and Italy in general has so much to offer both from a culinary perspective and a cultural one. Carol, you did a magnificent job giving us a true taste of Italy with these exceptional experiences that will last a lifetime. A hearty thank you once again for organizing and executing such a sensational trip.”

Rhonda K., Montreal, Canada

 

“Kudos to Carol for putting together a fantastic culinary experience in Spain! From the comfortable accommodations in a beautiful hilltop villa to the superb itinerary to the outstanding food and wine, our stay in Andalusia was a home run. Each day was a new adventure: a winery, an artisanal olive oil press, an elegant restaurant, a beachside luncheon, the Alhambra, and more. Our daily excursions involved a harrowing trip along a narrow and winding mountain road, but we learned to have faith in our driver, David. However, David’s driving skills were nothing compared to his expertise in the kitchen. He created amazing dishes that reflected the local cuisine while introducing personal flourishes that elevated each meal to new heights. The wine flowed throughout, adding to the amiable atmosphere. Carol, ever attentive to each person’s needs, made sure that everything was fine-tuned to perfection. This was our first tip with Carol, but probably not our last”

Jackie A., Gladwyne, PA and Ellie C., Phoenixville, PA

 

“Negotiating the smorgasbord of Indian colour, tastes, sites, and culture with Carol was a blast. The small and perfect size of our group made it possible to not only see the usual things one must see in India but also get off the typical tourist track to wonderful local experiences. Carol has a knack for knowing what people want when they travel and for finding a good balance of comfort and experience. The food events on this trip were so much fun! Walking tours, and cooking classes in the most unexpected of places. Once again Carol has hit it out of the park. Namaste!”

Karen W., Whistler, PA

 

“Looking for a travel experience that offers both luxury accommodations  and extraordinary  experiences every day?  Then, pack your walking shoes and join Carol Ketelson for the trip of a lifetime  – to India !  All of your senses come alive as you explore the Golden Triangle – Delhi, Jaipur and Agra. Take in the fragrances of the spice market in Old Delhi,the unsurpassed beauty of the Taj Mahal and the flavors of every area you visit. Come ready to be awestruck by a maharaja’s palace in Rajasthan and by the anticipation of seeing the elusive tiger in Ranthambore. And – everywhere you go, there is color – beautiful, bright and vibrant color!  If you long to expand your world view,the culture,history and food of incredible India will provide the way.”

Jeanette L., Oakland, CA

 

“I was delighted to be on Delectable Destinations inaugural culinary trip to India. It was a wonderful experience all around. The food was magnificent, cooking demos were delicious and fun, and it felt like we experienced the true culture and history of India. I felt safe and well taken care of throughout our trip and would highly recommend it!”

Janice V., Salem, OR

 

“Last month, I had the pleasure of spending a week on Italy’s Amalfi Coast as part of a group arranged through Delectable Destinations. The whole experience was something I’ll always look back on with a smile. Wonderful food, wine, and both old and new friends. We saw and experienced the treasure that is the Amalfi Coast, with Carol’s tireless ability to insure we all were enjoying ourselves. Coming back to reality at the end of the vacation was a difficult re-entry! If I ever get the chance to travel abroad again, I’ll look into what trips Carol is leading first!”

Kate P., Spring Grove, PA

 

“Delectable Destinations combines the love of food, family, and travel.  A wonderful adventure among the beautiful Amalfi Coast of Italy.  Food and travel spectacular beyond your dreams.  Most interesting is the warmth of the family owned businesses that welcomed us into their homes and places of business.  They made you feel that you had known them for years.  Cooking side by side with Chef’s from 5 Star restaurants using ingredients from their land.  Carol , thank you for cultivating such wonderful relationships with these establishments and providing a dream vacation.  Whether you are a “foodie” or someone that just loves traveling, don’t miss the opportunity to be a part of one of the many Delectable Destinations adventures.  Count me in for a future destination!”

Sherri A., Leesburg, VA

 

“I would definitely welcome the opportunity to go on another trip with Carol. From the moment I first spoke with her, I had no doubt that the trip to the Amalfi Coast would be very special. Carol is extremely organized and took care of every last detail. She planned an amazing culinary focused itinerary and we had so many unique experiences. Carol has a very warm and outgoing personality and I really enjoyed spending time getting to know her on my vacation. It was definitely the trip of a lifetime!”

Stacey M., Walnut Creek, CA

 

“The trip to Puglia far exceeded my expectations. The restaurants we went to, the cooking classes we had, the trips to little towns and best of all our first class accommodations. It was wonderful !!! Thank you”

Susan L., Goshen, NY

 

“Absolutely!! Thanks to Carol, that seems to be the response I have been giving to people when I am asked if I want to go back to Italy. My daughter and I spent a week in Ravello on the Amalfi coast with Carol. I was anxious about going because it would be my first trip out of the country, I am afraid of flying, I get motion sickness and I don’t like being away from home. I really wasn’t sure if she would want my on the trip!! Carol contacted me by email and phone before the trip and addressed all of my questions with genuine concern. Our trip was very well organized. All of our excursions from our home base were planned down to the last detail. At the end of the day you had experienced a new adventure, had eaten wonderful meals and were ready for a good nights sleep. On all of our outings Carol was warmly greeted by our hosts for the day-clearly evident that she was fondly remembered by them from her previous visits. Thank you Carol for all of the beautiful memories from a trip I will never forget. So glad I went”

Terry M., Oakland, CA

 

“Carol at Delectable Destinations has created a 1st Class Tour and Culinary experience.    Amalfi Coast is picturesque and soaking in all the beauty went well beyond the dark of night.  Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and very professional.  The language barrier was never a problem because Carol has a translator with us at all times.  Villa San Cosma is beautiful and Margherita is the best.  The unique tours she has assembled, I could not do.  As a Travel Professional myself, I highly recommend Delectable Destinations.”

Denise R., Leesburg, Virginia

 

“Words cannot describe the perfection of my week with Carol Ketelson of Delectable Destinations in Tuscany. The theme of our excursion was Storytelling through Food Styling and Photography. We discovered the Italian culture through hands on cooking classes and interactions with local producers and artisans. We learned simple methods to cook healthy and authentic food. I am no chef, but I have since replicated the meals with much appreciation and shared a taste of Italy with my friends and family. Cooking classes were presented by Veronica Clemente at our exquisite accommodations Villa La Quercia. Veronica took us on a guided tour of the local market and gave us passionate instruction in preparing delicious dishes with local ingredients. We experienced the food with all of our senses. The addition of food styling and photography was a bonus that complimented the culinary aspect of the trip. The beauty of the food was enhanced by the exploration of composition, texture, colour, lighting and depth of field. I had a magical week with a wonderful group of women. We laughed, we cried and of course, we ATE!!! We did day trips to a local winery, a cashmere farm, a goat/sheep cheese farm, rustic villages and made several trips to Florence. Not a second of time was wasted. The villa and its grounds were stunning. The Tuscany landscape was absolutely breathtaking. Originally I was going to wait until my 50th birthday to do this trip, and then I realized that the time was NOW. The journey was an investment in my creativity and very inspirational. I am so grateful that I did this trip and look forward to future Delectable Destinations!”

Heather B, Montreal, QC

 

“I knew the moment I met Carol my culinary trip in Amalfi was going to be a life changing experience. Although well organized, it was not the norm and I felt as I was on a trip where I was being guided but still had the freedom to experience the wineries, cooking classes, beauty of the amalfi landscape freely. I fell in love with the people most of all , from the maker of mozzarella di buffalo, to great pizza master Franco Pepe, Gaitano at winery San Francesco, Salvatore Limoncello grove in Amalfi,  Guiseppe in salerno who with patience taught us how to prepare an incredible lunch, yes I actually gutted a fish ! Difficult to sum up all the special little moments, the laugher , the smells, the sights and most of all the comfort and sense of friendship which I feel only carol can create through her culinary experiences,  I use the word experience, because this was not a travel tour trip at all, it changed my life. I am definitely anxiously awaiting Delectable travels next destination which is Spain.. and as for Carol.. she is A jewel in the culinary travel world. I think back and have memory episodes every now and then and cannot stop myself from smiling…!”

Laura F., Montreal, QC

 

“We had a truly memorable time with Carol Ketelson and her company, “Delectable Destinations” when we visited the southern region of Puglia in October. I would say that the reason for our high marks around this particular trip related foremost to the people that we met while touring the various vineyards, farms and restaurants. The people of Southern Italy are the most kind, warm and accommodating. And, they are all craftsmen and experts in their particular field. The chefs, some of whom were in Michelin Star restaurants, personally shared their love of food and their particular talents in creating various dishes. We met chefs as well as owners of almost every restaurant we visited. We also met a dairy farmer, a family that owned an operated an ancient olive vineyard, and a capicollo maker and his family.  What make the culinary experience in Italy so extraordinary are the people, their traditions and their desire to maintain the highest quality product while staying true to the methods passed down to them for generations. Carol was extremely organized and planned every minute of our trip and our tour leaders, driver and in particular, Mafalda, were also key to keeping the entire group happy, relaxed and comfortable. Carol goes above and beyond to try and please everyone, which can sometimes be a challenge in a group situation. My husband and I would happily book another Delectable Destinations tour with her, as we know that we will have the experience of a lifetime and we will have no worries about where to eat, what we will do or whether or not we speak the language. We hopefully look forward to another trip with Carol and “Delectable Destinations” and would love to visit the Amalfi Coast as we hear it is another amazing place in Italy.”

Nan R., York, ME

 

“I have had the very good fortune to take more than one culinary tour with Delectable Destinations. In fact, this was my third trip with Carol Ketelson. In October I travelled to the beautiful region of Tuscany, Italy on a one week Culinary/ Photography Workshop. It was beyond my expectations as each day we experienced such incredible outings to places I would never have found on my own. Carol’s itinerary and her choice of the villa we stayed were second to none. I enjoyed every minute of this trip. The cooking classes were such fun, all held in this quaint kitchen with a corner fireplace aglow to add warmth and ambience. Our photography workshops were informative and we learned a lot about food styling. We also experienced a nighttime photography lesson in the Renaissance city of Florence. I do not know how Carol Ketelson does it, but each trip gets better and better. So much so, I am already excited to travel to Spain next fall with Delectable Destinations. In my opinion, the sheer joy you have while traveling with Carol is something you must experience at least once in your lifetime.”

Stella P., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“I have been fortunate enough to experience two Delectable Destination’s Culinary and Cultural Tours with Carol, the first being my trip to the Amalfi Coast in May 2012, the later to Paris, France in September 2013. Our trip began with a guided historical tour of  Paris. After a good nights rest we were eager and excited to begin our first baking class at Cook’n with Class cooking school in Montmartre. Patrick, our pastry chef guided us through the process and preparation of making Macarons along with their delicious fillings. The Salted Carmel Butter and Pistachio were clearly my favorite! Making croissants at Cook’n with Class was equally as exciting. The complexity and precision involved in making a “proper” croissant is remarkable! A true learning experience! It was wonderful to learn how to make pain au chocolate, raisin buns as well as other French pastries. Our closing dinner with chef Constance was a true culinary delight! What a great way to end our trip with a beautifully presented four course meal!! While in Paris we spent time visiting famous bakeries, shops and markets in various neighborhoods. Our “Succulent Paris” tour with Aurelie and Marion was delightful as was our “Paris by Mouth” tour with Sara. Both proved to be a true “tasting” experience! For those who appreciate art and art history our visit to Musee D’Orsay was exceptional. It was amazing to see the paintings of famous 19 Century Impressionists  such as Monet, Manet, Degas and Renoir, to name a few. Our day trip to beautiful Versailles (the Palace) and Monet’s gardens in Giverny was outstanding! By all accounts, Paris was simply magnifique! Once again, Carol did an outstanding job organizing our days with enough diversity to satisfy all. Delectable Destinations gave us the opportunity to experience one of the most romantic cities in the world coupled with delectable cuisine- a true culinary delight. Thank you Carol !”

Rhonda K., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“I had such a great time on Carol’s culinary vacation to Italy in October 2012 that I was sure it would be hard to beat. But curiosity won out — I decided to try another of Carol’s culinary destinations, and it was the September 2013 Paris trip. Wow! I am so delighted that I followed my intuition and went on the trip. It was super fun — made more so by a reunion with friends Hilda, Stella, and Rhonda from the Italy trip. Paris is the city of lights, butl it is also the city of culinary delights! We laughed together and ate delicious food everywhere we went and even made some ourselves! The Paris cooking school “Cook’n With Class” was close to where we were staying. We met a variety of chefs at the cooking school, each with their own unique style. What fun to learn how to make macarons, croissants, pain au chocolat and pain raisin. On our last evening together, we did a fresh market shopping to acquire provisions for an evening meal class, enjoying our yummy dishes with glasses of wine. Experiencing the beauty of Paris neighbourhoods with their cozy cafes and gourmet restaurants was a delight. Carol arranges everything, and that includes great personalized tours of museums, markets, bakeries, chocolateries, and wine caves. Another bonus was staying in a lovely B & B in Montmartre, Au Sourire de Montmartre with Ilhame’s warm and sparkling hospitality. All in all a fantastic vacation in Paris, studded with culinary delights and fun with friends. I highly recommend Carol’s Paris culinary experience. And her Italian one too!”

Karen E., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“What an amazing culinary adventure! I’ve been to Paris before and always ate well, but for a foodie like me, this trip was pure heaven.  Do I care that I put on the pounds from eating not just “good,” but award-winning croissants, bagettes, pastries, chocolate, macarons & wines?  Or feasting lavishly on a 4-course meal that we  cooked in concert with a talented chef?  Or dining in some of Paris’ most special restaurants?  The answer is, I would definitely do it all over again! There were other highlights too–a guided tour at the Musee Dorsey, a trip to Giverny where Monet painted his water lillies, and an excursion to Versailles with a wonderful guide whose anecdotes about the French kings were truly delightful. This was my third trip with Carol–traveling with her is like traveling with a friend you always have a great time with. Carol takes pride in everything she does and makes sure everyone is taken care of and happy. I love that she keeps her group small. It gives you the opportunity to get to know your fellow travelers and form a bond. I look forward to future delectable destinations with Carol!”

Hilda G., New York, NY, USA

 

“The wonderful stroke of good luck that led me to your website when I searched online for Amalfi Coast vacations continues to amaze me. A culinary tour wasn’t even on my radar, but when I read your description of what turned out to be the best vacation I’ve ever had, I became really excited. Near the end of our week together you asked what was the high point for each of us. For me, it was definitely Mamma Agata’s Cooking School and the immense privilege of getting to meet Mamma Agata, Chiara, and Gennaro. But of course there were many more highlights: Frantoio Gargiulo and the absolutely incredible olive oil I filled my suitcase with, the beautiful Tenuta San Francesco Winery, the tour of Ravello with Angela, the dinner at Da Lorenzo in Scala, and many other outstanding meals and amazing sights. The icing on an already splendid cake was spending time with the other members of our group – JoJo, Shannon, Jodie, and Marilyn – as well as Roberto (is it okay to describe a man as a “gem”??). We could not have put together a more fun, friendly, and simpatico group if we’d done it ourselves. And as Nancy, Warren, and I remarked more than once during and after the tour, your organizational skills, ability to anticipate and attend to the smallest details, not to mention shifting gears smoothly and quickly on those rare occasions when a change of plans was required are greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to travel with someone who doesn’t regard the experience as business, but as an opportunity to share incredible beauty and wonderful people with the lucky few who sign up for one of your tours. Thanks, Carol, for giving us a rich and varied experienced that none of us will ever forget! We look forward to traveling with you again soon.”

Don F., Laurel, MD, USA

 

“Words cannot express how much fun Nancy, Don, and I had on your tour!  And, Marilyn, Jodie, Jo-Jo, and Shannon were the garni on this fabulous feast. Every time I look at my photos, I relive the sights, fragrances, and especially the tastes that are the Amalfi Coast. As we have discovered what makes good Italian food so wonderful, Don and I are cooking (and eating) our way to bliss. To quote Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, the influential Modernist architect, “God is in the details”.  Speaking of details, I was immediately impressed that you assisted by suggesting the more desirable Business Class on the Frecciarossa, booking our train tickets, and then meeting our train at Napoli Centrale with Roberto; what a wonderful reception! I knew when Don received those train tickets, everything about this trip would be perfect.  Of course, the planning of details such as these made every moment of our trip seamless, surprising, and inspiring. Molte grazie, Carol!”

Warren E., Laurel, MD, USA

 

“I have recently returned from my dream vacation on the Amalfi Coast. Cooking and travelling are two of my passions. Carol combines the best of both worlds in her culinary trips. From the moment I walked out of the airport and was greeted by Roberto, our driver, I knew this was not going to be an ordinary trip. On our way to the villa, we saw many sights, stopping for pictures along the magnificent Amalfi Coast. We arrived at Villa San Cosma in Ravello where we were greeted by Carol and Margharita. We had time to freshen up and unpack and then enjoy our welcome dinner, the meal was wonderful, the view from the villa, breathtaking. Meeting the group I would be sharing my dream with was exciting. We began our week as strangers but quickly became great friends. My most memorable part of the trip was our cooking day at Mamma Agata, where together with Chiara, they awakened all of our senses, and gave us many helpful culinary tips. The week included great adventures from mozzarella making to olive oil tasting to our final wine and cheese soirée hosted by master sommelier Genaro. Carol brilliantly choreographed a well balanced week of laughter, lifelong friendships, intoxicating aromas, spectacular scenery, delectable meals, and pure elegance. Thank you Carol”

Jodie M., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“This is my second trip with Carol and Delectable Destinations, this time to Tuscany, and it was fantastic! From the breathtaking vistas of Tuscany to the cobblestone streets of Florence, we tasted, drank, cooked, dined, laughed, and made friends. The hotel,  just a short ride from the center of town, was a gem — beautiful, serene, and a comforting place to return to at the end of the day. It’s all in the details as they say, and Carol crafts every detail with loving care and a warm and personal embrace which sets her apart from everyone else. Anyone wishing to have an amazing culinary adventure and the luxury of knowing everything will be taken care of for you with the greatest of care from the minute you step off the plane until you are ready to return home, this is it! ”

Hilda G., New York, NY, USA

 

“So hard to put into words the expertise Carol brings to her trips. Never overly orchestrated but always calm and carefully planned, we were able to partake of all we wanted and enjoy the moment, knowing that the details of travel and timing were taken care of. Carol showed us places we would not have been able to access ourselves. She is so warmly welcomed everywhere it is clear that she takes great care to foster and maintain good relationships and her clients benefit. Fabulous food, beautiful scenery, excellent company. What more could one want? I look forward to joining in another trip.”

Karen W., Whistler, BC, Canada

 

“I can’t even begin to put into words how appreciative we are of all your help. Thank you for all you have done to help make this the most special mother-daughter Italian experience. We are so thankful for you and all your hard work, thought and patience, and time you put into making this trip to the Amalfi Coast and Tuscany tailored to our needs and treating it as one you would plan for yourself. It is so refreshing to meet someone who has a heart and passion for the beauty, flavors, people and culture of Italy, as I do! Our cooking days with Mamma Agata in Ravello and Veronica at Villa La Quercia in Tuscany were truly experiences of a lifetime! Thank you again for everything!”

Allison L., Raleigh, NC, USA,

 

“Thank you for the wonderful agenda you planned for us in Tuscany. With your knowledge and planning, everything seemed so smooth and easy. You definitely found treasures we wouldn’t have found on our own.  From the amazing 16th Century villa and cooking class to the food and art tours – not to mention the 1,000 year old abbey with wine and olive oil tastings – it truly was a culinary adventure.  We made memories with best friends that will last forever!”

Andrea R., Dallas, TX, USA

 

“I am so happy that I chose to go on a Delectable Destinations trip. I was very pleased with everything. The accomodations were charming and I loved every single activity. The people who assist you in making the trip what it is were all so personable and knowledgeable. What a wonderful part of the world! It was fun to get to know you and the other women on the trip – what a fun time. It exceeded all my expectations. Thank you for everything.”

Susanne T., London, ON, Canada

 

“Thank you so much for taking me and my precious friends on such a memorable trip.  Each day was filled with a new activity that I could not have found on my own.  I think every person had a different favorite day which means it was filled with many amazing activities.  Staying at Veronica’s villa was truly an experience that I will never forget!  Her hospitality and delicious cooking was a real highlight!”

Lori H., Dallas, TX, USA

 

“If you want a taste of Paradise, you just have to go on one of Carol’s Delectable Destinations Tour of the Amalfi Coast.  I have taken almost a thousand pictures of this wonderful trip and it still does not depict all of the beauty, the smells, the food, the wine and the accommodations.  This has been the first visit to Italy for my sister and I and Carol has accomplished a “tout de force” in organizing this trip.  From the moment that we arrived to the day that we left, we have felt pampered and secure in knowing that Carol was there to look after all of the minute details.  Thank you Carol for a memorable vacation.”

Margot & Renée, Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“My trip to Italy was one of the most amazing trips ever. Every single detail was organized by the talented owner of Delectable Destinations, Carol Ketelson. Our trip started with 3 days in Venice, which were filled with so much laughter, good food, good wine and wonderful sights. We then went on to Florence for 8 days; the beauty, history, museums, amazing architecture, food and wine speaks for itself. But Carol’s organizational skills are not to be compared. The planning, details and the exquisite places where she took us were incredible. The Taste Florence culinary walk, the Art Tour of Florence and the culinary class with Chef Veronica were unforgettable. I am still wondering how Carol discovered the hotel we were staying at in Florence, just a few minutes outside of the city. It was like a museum, taking you away from the craziness of the city with its tranquility and gracious staff. After a week we moved on to the Amalfi Coast, where we stayed in the town of Ravello; we were so high up in the hills, it was like paradise. Who knows how she found the jewel we stayed in for 8 days, Villa San Cosma. Everything from the room with a breath-taking view of the Amalfi Coast, Margherita’s attention to preparing our special breakfasts and whatever else we needed, to Roberto our driver from Amalfi Destinations who knew all the history of the Coast and more, helped to make this trip the success that it was. Without forgetting of course, the cooking classes at Mamma Agata’s, which was a delight. Carol accompanied us for 19 days and took special, individual care of every single one of us. Carol Ketelson is the best at what she does, due certainly to her love of Italy and her love of people. What a wonderful experience this was and I shall never forget it. I highly recommend that instead of taking my word for it, you experience it for yourself!”

Ilda D., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“I still dream of the trip my daughter and I took with Delectable Destinations to the Amalfi Coast –it couldn’t have been more wonderful! Carol knows the area like the back of her hand, takes you to magical places tourists usually don’t get to see, and has the best people taking care of you–from Margherita who runs the villa with loving hands and attention to every detail; to our driver, Roberto, who guided us on narrow, winding roads with great skill and an abiding sense of humor; to the warm and welcoming Agata family who runs the cooking school, cooks a dazzling array of dishes for you, and shares family recipes handed down through generations. Each and every day was not only an amazing culinary experience, but a feast for the eyes. The beauty of the Amalfi Coast is breathtaking and Carol shares her love of the area in a very special and personal way with her small group. Traveling with Carol is like traveling with a friend whose greatest pleasure is for everyone to have a beautiful experience–and that we did. What’s next after this unforgettable vacation? A trip to Tuscany with Carol in the Spring–can’t wait!

Hilda G., New York, NY

 

“If you want to enjoy every moment of your vacation, meet great new friends, experience gastronomic delights in beautiful settings, then Carol’s culinary escapes will fit the bill. Our vacation to Italy was a wonderful experience in every way thanks to Carol’s expert planning. She chooses great locations to visit and enlists the professional services of excellent guides and drivers. We started out on the breathtakingly beautiful Amalfi Coast — feasting at Mamma Agata’s in the serenely beautiful town of Ravello, visiting a family vineyard in Tremonti and an olive groves near Sorrento, lunching in Amalfi, and shopping in Positano — then spent a few days in and around Florence. Every detail is organized and planned with ease and comfort in mind.  Every day there is a new outing and scenic adventure.  You relax with the chauffered transport taking all worries out of your vacation travel, allowing you to relax and enjoy every delightful experience. The cooking classes are so much fun, since you feast on the excellent dishes that you prepared while sipping lovely local wines.  Meeting the chefs — Mamma Agata, Gennaro, and Veronica — was indeed a highlight as they warmly welcome you to their homes and gardens. Truly a delectable trip!”

Karen & Gordon, Montreal,QC, Canada

 

“A trip of a lifetime! The perfect balance of culinary experiences and wine tasting set amongst the backdrop of the stunning Amalfi Coast! What a wonderful way to see this beautiful part of Italy – best known for their vineyards, olive groves and cheeses! Cooking with Mama Agata was a true culinary delight!  The days spent visiting the vineyard in Tramonti and the olive groves and cheese producer in beautiful Sorrento were both educational and enlightening! Our visit to the coastal town of Positano along with a delicious lunch proved to be a true treat! This trip was the perfect balance of tasting, touring and experiencing! Thank you Carol for making this experience a truly magical one. Your attention to detail and your love for what you do is so very apparent! Bravo!”

Rhonda Katz, Montreal, QC, Canada

&nbsp

“Delectable Destinations gets it all right!  Carol plans every little detail in exactly the way you would want to experience the Amalfi Coast at its best.  The villa we stayed in was gorgeous and cozy and the staff who ran it accommodated our every need.  The driver Carol arranged to take us everywhere was extremely knowledgable and kept all of us safe on the crazy winding roads of the coast. Every day’s itinerary was perfectly planned, with just the right amount of activities and down time.  As well, Carol brought us to hidden special places that tourists visiting the area on their own would likely never find on their own. And each meal was better than the next!  I would recommend Delectable Destinations to anyone who wants to have a unique and delicious experience on the Amalfi Coast.”

Holly G., New York, NY, USA

 

“I have just returned from my wonderful trip to the Amalfi Coast which far exceeded my expectations. Who wouldn’t love the Amalfi Coast? Carol, however makes it a one-of-a-kind experience. From the moment we arrived at the Villa San Cosma in Ravello, Margherita, the innkeeper, made us feel so at home, we knew this was going to be an extraordinary travel experience. Carol has put her heart and soul into ensuring everything we saw and encountered was going to be memorable and extraordinary… and it was! The cooking class at Mamma Agata’s, the family-run winery, the hands-on tour of the mozzarella producer (fun!!), the incredible food and wine, etc…, etc… Each day was better than the day before. I will forever have amazing memories. I don’t know is I can ever duplicate them, but I’m going to try. I plan on joining Carol on her Tuscany/Florence journey in September 2013.”

Barbara S., New York, NY, USA

 

“Ravello, Italy, is home to a variety of classical music and Carol took her cue from the maestros and orchestrated a classic experience. Her years of love for the area, combined with tireless research and “due diligence” on things to do, resulted in a perfect adventure. The breathtaking scenery and Mama Agata’s cooking class on the first day were fabulous, but the special interfaces with winemakers and olive grove owners, plus dining at remarkable restaurants had us saying “It just gets better” each day. Carol is incredibly gracious and has the utmost concern for her guests’ well-being while in her care. Our driver, Roberto, was perfect as this our own “Mayor of Amalfi” carried us along the Amalfi coast. It could not have been better and we continue to bask in the afterglow of a glorious time. During this week there were more smiles than at a clown convention and we cannot stop talking about and recommending a Delectable Destinations to anyone who will listen. Thanks so much, Carol, for everything you do and everything you are. It was great to meet you and even greater sharing the time together.”

Randy Thompson, Greenville, SC, USA

 

“Thank you Carol for making every dream we had about our vacation in Italy come true! We could not have done it on our own in such a special and intimate way. Your knowledge (and love) of the area and the relationships you have cultivated along life’s way was evident every step of the way. For example, when you told us that we were going to a winery, we pictured a visit to a winery like we have experieced before. Instead, it was our group of six, hanging out with the owner and his daughter, seeing their prized 300 year old grapevine, and then sitting down at their place for a fabulous homecooked meal with them while we shared stories, including why he chose the labels for his wines. I could go on and on describing our trip with many other stories similar to that one that we experienced as we ate and drank our way through Italy!! Last but not least, we enjoyed the wonderful sight-seeing excursions woven in our food and wine adventures. Whoops! Can’t forget to mention the beautiful Villa we stayed in. Wow! My motto is Live, learn, laugh, love, life. We certainly did that every single day! Awesome. Peace, love, and blessings.”

Jane and Don Kelley, Greenville, SC, USA

 

“The trip to the Amalfi Coast with Carol was a wonderful experience. The setting of the villa is stunning and the owners treat you as family members. The cooking class was dynamic and the print material provided allows you to enjoy the moment knowing that you will have a reference when you return home.The small group enabled us to meet the people who owned and ran the winery, the olive grove, the cheese factory. Carol knew these people and we were made to feel welcome in their facilities as they sat and had lunch with us. The activities that were included in the package were excellent – garden tours, lunches and dinners in spectacular places. They all made you feel that you had a very comprehensive feel for the area in a short period of time. Carol has a very good feel for people and a passion for her work.  This tour is not only value for money but also leaves you with a very satisfied feeling at the end of it.  Your tummy certainly is full!  And you will want to do another tour.”

Linda and Al Stephens, Montreal, Qc, Canada

&nbsp

“Our May 2012 trip to Ravello, Italy, and the Amalfi Coast was pure magic! Carol pays such close attention to detail to make sure every aspect of the trip is fun, delicious, comfortable and filled with memories. Every day was a wonderful new adventure – sure to please all of your senses as you experience this awesome place! Thank you, Carol!!!”

Peggy Thompson, Greenville, SC, USA

 

“I just returned from Ravello, Italy after spending a wonderful week with Carol. We visited the coastal towns of Amalfi, Positano, and the island of Capri. What a great week it was, I didn’t even have to think! Carol had planned everything to the last detail. All we had to do was enjoy ourselves and of course eat!!! The food was scrumptious and the wine was superb! Our accommodations at the villa in Ravello were splendid, as were our many excursions. One of the highlights was our day at Mamma Agata’s Cooking school on the Amalfi coast. A wonderful day of food, wine and new friends! Thanks again Carol, can’t wait for the next adventure!”

Joy Burko, Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“What a fabulous time we had on Carol’s culinary tour. It was all we had hoped for and more. Everything was delivered with such enthusiasm and perfection. When one plans a trip for only 1 week because they have business commitments preventing them from taking more time, they want it all perfectly planned such as this was as there is no time to waste and so much beauty to see. The food was as delicious & breathtaking as the surroundings we cooked and ate in.I look forward to partaking in future trips that Carol organizes, and truly recommend it as it was a memorable experience from start to finish.”

Lillian Levy, Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“Absolutely loved my trip to the Amalfi Coast. Carol organized visits to a variety of different parts of the Coast and each visit was informative and exciting. It gave me a true sense of what life is like in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. She is a passionate Italian travel tour guide. Everything was well planned and so enjoyable. She took care of every detail which made the trip both relaxing and carefree. I had never been on an organized tour before but this experience made me realize that this definitely is a great way to travel. I’d go back to Italy in a heartbeat and am anxiously awaiting news on future trips that Carol will organize. An amazing experience with wonderful memories.”

Arlene LevyMontreal, QC, Canada

&nbsp

“Thank you, Carol for helping me organize this wonderful surprise birthday gift for my husband. His dream was to visit Paris, rent an apartment and bake! What a wonderful experience, living in typical Parisienne neighbourhood for a week! Carol found us a wonderful apartment in a great location. We could walk everywhere or take the metro. The fact that it was on the 4th floor was good because we could walk off some of those croissants and other goodies! The apartment was perfect for us and well equipped. We also loved the market tour that Carol organized for us. We got to see all kinds of things that are a little off the beaten path and our guide was very flexible in taking us to things we wanted to see.Carol also organized a baking class for my husband. He absolutely loved it and we loved the croissants he brought home.We had such a wonderful trip and found all kinds of things that we would never have found had we organized it ourselves. Carol organized a most perfect trip to Paris for myself, husband and son. We all agreed it was our best trip ever!”

Janice V.Salem, OR, USA

 

“Our trip to Greece was more than we imagined. Seeing Athens, Crete, and Santorini in 8 days as you planned, was full of history, fun and excitement. The hotel in Chania, Crete you picked was amazing. The view, the staff, the food, the experience, especially the last night dining by the coastline, eating grilled Calamari picked from the sea that day, was incredible and memorable. Lastly, Santorini was breath taking, and it is as picture postcard as we have imagined it. Thanks again for preparing our trip..”

Brian and Florence, Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“Never would have conceived of using a trip planner before but now I understand the value  of Carol’s service. With a complex itinerary through Montreal, Eastern Europe and the UK, we could never have organized flights, trains, transfers, hotels, and such ourselves without a massive expenditure of time and energy. Carol was fantastic: efficient and knowledgeable. Her attention to detail is striking and it pays off in the end product. Everything she planned for us came off without a hitch. Hotels and B&B’s that surpassed our expectations, smooth transfers, and a lovely trip by train through the Slovak and Czech countryside. This trip was head and shoulders above anything we could have come up with ourselves. Carol will definitely be part of our future travel planning.” Thanks again ever so much.”

Karen Wanger and Bruce Brink, Vancouver, BC, Canada

 

“I would like to thank you for organizing the trip to Italy. You really delivered on your promise. The Amalfi coast is absolutely beautiful. I had forgotten how beautiful from my first visit many years ago. Celebrating my birthday by taking cooking classes with Mamma Agata and Chiara, enjoying the delicious food we prepared, walking through the gardens and just enjoying the unbelievable view from their home was the highlight of the trip and will remain a memorable experience. The accommodations in Ravello were not only excellent, but the family running the hotel treated us as if we were an extension to their family. Transportation as well as the restaurants you recommended was all first class.  Thank you again for making this holiday a fabulous and memorable one.”

Grace D., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“This trip was a great experience to sample both the cultural and gastronomical taste of Italy. Carol made it easy for us with her excellent organizational skills before and throughout the trip  Not only did we take part in the  famous Mamma Agata’s cooking classes, where we made the most amazing Italian dishes and drank the famous limoncello, we were also able to tour the astounding coastline of Amalfi, visiting places like Positano, Ravello and Capri.. . Thanks to Carol’s intensive knowledge of the area, we were able to just relax and enjoy ourselves with lots of wonderful conversations, delectable food, sites and laughter..Thank you Carol for planning a such wonderful trip.”

Diana M., Dubai, UAE

 

“My mother and I recently enjoyed Concept Plus Travel’s culinary tour of the Amalfi Coast. Their attention to detail in every aspect of the trip from transportation to local area knowledge was second to none.  Carol Ketelson, owner of Concept Plus Travel, was with us every step of the way ensuring that all was handled and that everyone’s needs were well taken care of. Her demeanor, professionalism and warm personality brought our group together and made the experience flawless. Not only will I be booking my next journey with them, but also would not hesitate to recommend their services to anyone looking for a truly wonderful and exciting adventure!”

Marcella D., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“I want to thank you for such a great trip.  It was so well organized .  Thank you for your generosity to share with us your love of the Amalfi coast and introducing us to such treasures as Mama Agata’s cooking school.  I especially enjoyed Chiara and her wonderful family. It was such a pleasure to have met Grace, Marcella, Betty and you.  I really appreciated the time spent with every single one of you.  It felt so comfortable.  The laughter and friendship that was created there was so spontaneous and felt like long time friends. Carol, you are an exceptional Italian travel tour guide and a special thanks to you for looking after all those little details that made the trip so enjoyable. It will be my pleasure to promote your next journey and others in the future!”

Suzanne, London, ON, Canada

 

“Carol’s Italy trip incorporated the perfect balance of structure and flexibility: Cooking at one of Italy’s top culinary schools, personalized guided walking tours, shopping, authentic regional dining and cultural experiences, as well as ample time for rest and relaxation. I was particularly impressed with her resourcefulness: When a pre-planned evening event was unexpectedly cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances, Carol promptly presented our group with several appealing alternate options. Thanks for wonderful trip with a great group of people. P.S. The gelato fixes were amazing!”

Betty G., Montreal, QC, Canada

 

“Thank you for organizing the most memorable culinary experience in Italy encompassing breathtaking views and mouth watering foods. The hotel accommodations and service levels surpassed our expectations while the sights from our room overlooking the Amalfi coast were incredible. The excursion you planned to Capri was filled with beautiful art shops, great scenery, as well as amazing food. This entire trip will be one which will stay with us for a lifetime.”

Florence & Brian, Kirkland, QC, Canada

&mbsp;

“Of all trip reviews I have read, nothing compares to Carol’s trip planning. When it comes to professional travel advice, I look for the three things: experience, expertise and creativity! I get all three with ConceptPlus Travel. This summer I spent 7 days in Italy on the Amalfi Coast and it was the experience of a lifetime. Carol Ketelson is the most knowledgeable Italian travel tour guide I have ever come across. Her knowledge, attention to detail and creative suggestions resulted in some truly unique and rewarding travel experiences. The villa I stayed in was breathtaking, the restaurants she booked were hidden treasures (not your typical chain or tourist traps) and the site seeing picturesque. It pays to hire the best and I would highly recommend Carol’s services with ConceptPlus Travel to anyone!”

Kelly Y., Dallas, TX, USA

 

“Carol helped plan the trip of a lifetime to Italy for me, my mom and my sister.  We could not have done it without her!  She has all of the information and connections to plan every detail – transportation, hotels, tours, and more!  Her expert assistance took the stress out of the planning process and led to an unbelievable experience.  I would highly recommend her services!”

Leslie, Dallas, TX, USA

 

“A big thank you to Carol of ConceptPlus Travel for organizing a truly unique and wonderful trip to New Orleans in May 2008. Definitely not your mainstream holiday. Carol booked some great day excursions, a wonderful day at a spa with the most amazing treatments and the restaurants she selected were hidden gems that truly reflected the essence and character of New Orleans. I am eagerly anticipating Carol’s plans for my upcoming trip to Hawaii and I hope to join her on the upcoming culinary tour in Italy in October 2009. Carol takes the time to make sure that no detail is overlooked. I would definitely recommend her services!”

Betty Giannias, DDS, Montreal, QC, Canada.

 

“How would you like to be treated like royalty when you travel? Well, that’s exactly the sort of service you can expect when you’re in the capable hands of Carol and ConceptPlus. During a whirlwind business trip tour of Vancouver, Montreal, and Toronto, Carol arranged our personal travel schedules down to the last detail that made the trip a pleasure. The cars were always there waiting, the hotels were superb, the meals were sumptuous, and if I didn’t know better, she probably made darn sure the planes were on-time personally! If you seek top-notch personalized travel services for your group, there is nobody better!”

Martin Wax M.D. Westlake, TX, USA

&nbsp

“Carol’s services were a huge help to me in trying to book a company vacation for a dozen sales people. The resort she chose in the Dominican was very nice and she managed to work within the constraints of our relatively particular budget. There was no shortage of challenges thrown at her in her efforts to finalize the bookings, what with last minute name changes and date changes, but Carol managed to work it all out and at the same time keep me from panicking too much. She was really a helpful, efficient, and organized guide through the intimidating process of booking travel for a large group and I will continue to elicit her services in booking our group travel three times per year.”

Wayne Burke, President, Canada Inc.